Guess who’s coming to Dinner? Cookies and Cream Cupcakes!

In my house, dessert and junk food have been known to be top priorities. I have to admit that we like food. We can’t help it. I mean I blame some of my dad’s weight on myself. When I was a kid I would cry and beg to go with him whenever he ran an errand because I knew that as daddy’s little girl I could bat my eyes at just the right moment and get something yummy to eat (sometimes fast food, sometimes bakery visits, or ice cream).  I mean, he wasn’t skinny when I was a kid so its not entirely my fault but I have been pretty encouraging over the years when it came to food.

When we were kids my dad would bake cakes all the time. It was never from scratch but he would mix together the cake mix and I was always right there waiting for him to be done with the spoon, bowl, mixer– pretty much anything I could lick the batter off.  That was me “helping.” When I got older I became the one who made our birthday cakes, again straight from the box and again with such excitement to lick the spoon. As the years passed though, and as I started watching more Ace of Cakes, Food Network Challenge, and Cake Boss, I began my obsession with making those birthday cakes beautiful.

Then came the cupcakes. I usually frequent Pinterest for recipes and DIY’s and today is no different.

This recipe from http://www.sallysbakingaddiction.com creates the simplest and tastiest vanilla cupcakes that I’ve found. And what’s great is that not only does she show you how to make the vanilla but the recipe is actually for FUNFETTI cupcakes! Who doesn’t love sprinkles?!

I personally am the kind of person that really adores sprinkles. Especially the rainbow kind! I put them on ice cream, cookies, cupcakes, cakes. If I don’t have anything to put it on and I have sprinkles, more often than not I will be eating some straight out of the container.

Unfortunately my family, that is to say the other three dessert eaters for whom I primarily bake for,  don’t share my love for sprinkles. I blame myself. I should have educated them better.  (only kidding, I respect it. Means more for me right? <– I am only partially kidding about that…) So I made cookies and cream. Oreos. Perfection in cookie form.

Have I mentioned that this is my first “How to”/tutorial post. Ever. So bear with me?

COOKIES AND CREAM CUPCAKES

Ingredients:

  • 1 & 2/3 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter, melted
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup milk 
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 12 Oreo cookies

If you’re more experienced and you are comfortable substituting things here and there as per your taste go right ahead. Most recipes call for unsalted butter, and this one was no different but I just used the butter we had. The pin I got the recipe from provided other substitutions for some of the other ingredients as well. The one that wasn’t included which I personally have used on multiple occasions was Maple syrup in place of the vanilla extract, but that’s another post.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F . Line muffin tin with 12 cupcake liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a microwave-safe bowl melt butter in the microwave I recommend about 1 min, although my tech savvy brother says it all depends on the strength or wattage of your microwave.
  4. Whisk in the sugar, this mixture will be gritty. Like sand in your coffee at the beach.
  5. Chill in the refrigerator for 1 minute.
  6. Stir in egg, sour cream, milk, and vanilla extract until combined. Its going to look weird but its okay I promise (I’m the kind of person who gets weirded out just from looking at honeycombs…I don’t know why…but I assure you its going to be fine!)
  7. Slowly mix in dry ingredients until no lumps remain. Using an electric mixer is okay too and is actually my preference.
  8. Separate the cookies making sure that they separate cleanly. This is actually easier said than done. You want the cream on one side and the other side to be just cookie.
  9. Put the cookie with the cream at the bottom of the cupcake liners. One cookie per liner and make sure to have the cream side up!
  10. Divide batter among 12 cupcake liners (or 24 mini) and bake for up to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  11. Cool and frost to your hearts desire!

 

And there they are! Honestly, pretty simple. And they taste wonderful!

Here are what mine turned out as

.COOKIESANDCREAM2

COOKIESANDCREAM4COOKIESANDCREAM3

I clearly need to work on my cupcake photography skills but I can’t like that I didn’t love munching on those!

This is the original recipe –> http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/12/19/easy-homemade-funfetti-cupcakes/

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

